15
Dec
08

How do you get your news?

There are many ways that you can receive your news and stay up to date with the happenings of the world around you.  But how do you get yours?  I’ve been thinking recently about how I get my information.  It’s a drastically different way than my parents get theirs.  That’s for sure.

Let me give you an example.  A few months ago, I woke up, and as usual, started my day by checking email and Facebook.  Over night one of my friends had updated her status on Facebook that she had just got back from the hospital with her daughter.  About 2 hours later, the phone rang and it was her.  I was able to immediately ask how her daughter was feeling at that point.

Through the various technologies that are available now, we are able to find out news quicker and stay in touch better.  In days past, if you said that you had talked to someone, you would merely assume either that you spoke with them on the phone or in person.  Not the case anymore.  In the past week alone I’ve called, emailed, chatted on Facebook, tweeted via Twitter, and texted.  Over that same time period, I also sent video to my best friend in Mississippi of my son in swimming class just minutes after it happened and uploaded a longer video of him in a school Christmas program for him to download.

So, how do I get my news and stay in touch?  Here’s the rundown.  You can click on the logo of each site to find out more information:

google_reader_logo

Google Reader–I have over 80 website feeds that go into my account.  As those sites update, I get the content sent to my Reader, all in one place.  From here, I can share, star (save), or email the webpages.  I can also search for the stories that I am looking for by keyword.

facebook

Facebook–I use this to keep up with friends and contacts.  I’ll usually update my status to let you know what I’m doing.  If you check it right now, you’ll see that I’m blogging.

twitter_logo

Twitter–Twitter is a microblog site.  You’re limited to 160 characters.  From here, I can share links or short thoughts.  I usually update Twitter and my Facebook status from my cell phone.  It’s just easier that way.

I’ve just barely scratched the surface on what is actually out there.  If you’re looking for a specific communication vehicle to use, feel free to email me.

Oh, and for the record, I do read the newspaper.  I just read it through my feeds on Google Reader.

Have a great day!

0 Responses to “How do you get your news?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

