17
Apr
09

Twitter apps

So, how can you make Twitter more effective?  Here are a few side applications that I use to make my tweets a little more effective.

TwitterFeed-I use TwitterFeed to automatically post things that I do to a tweet.  For instance, when I publish this post to the web, TwitterFeed will automatically tweet that I have a new blog post.  It will include the title plus a TinyURL link to the article.  Automatically.  I also use this to follow my Shared Items on Google Reader.  When I tag an item as “shared”, it automatically will post a link to that web page to Twitter.  I love automation.

TweetLater– I use TweetLater for a couple different things.  You can schedule tweets to be posted at various times in the future.  For instance, if you’re going to be away from your computer and not have internet access, you can schedule tweets to happen while you’re away.

You can also use TweetLater to search Twitter for certain key word terms that you might want to see what people are tweeting about or talking about.  Want to know if anyone is tweeting about your company or city?  Add these terms to your keyword search list.  You can receive a report sent to your email at various time intervals.  I get one every 4 hours.

You can also use TweetLater to autoatically send a direct message to new followers.  It’s a quick way to respond to those new followers even if you’re not around.  You can also have TweetLater begin to automatically follow those new followers.

TweetDeck-TweetDeck is like your personal browser for Twitter.  You can sort and pull out certain people you are following.  You can search for key terms.  Send direct messages and also post tweets from TweetDeck.

So what’s your favorite Twitter application?  Let me know.

Have a great day!


2 Responses to “Twitter apps”


  1. April 17, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Thanks for the tips Mark. I set up my blog postings to twitterfeed. Pretty easy to do! I haven’t tackled the other tips just yet, but will in the future.

  2. April 18, 2009 at 5:29 am

    Please check our website TweetRSVP – Tweets that include a question or request for information are pulled and available on TweetRSVP in real-time, or through a searchable database or via email. Visitors can reply or RSVP to a tweet directly from the site through twitter.com or by copy and paste if using a desktop client.


Leave a comment


Enter your email address to receive an email each time I write a new blog post!