05
Sep
11

Orchestrating a 5 lb. week and a simple request

Last week was a big week for me. I lost 5 more lbs. to bring my total to 66 lbs. I hadn’t lost 5 lbs. since my first week on the diet in March. If you want to see what 5lbs. of fat looks like, click here.

So, how did I do it? Here are my thoughts:

1. I cycled off of my supements for a week. I take both ALA and green tea extract.

2. I actually did some exercise. Just a little. The interesting thing is that it was random. Here’s the data from the exercise. I use the Cardio Trainer app on my Droid to track my workouts.

Wednesday, August 31-Stationary bike-10 mins-70 calories burned (PM)

Thursday, September 1-Stationary bike-12 mins-84 calories burned (AM)

Thursday, September 1-Stationary bike-20 mins-140 calories burned (PM)

Friday, September 2-Stationary bike-21 mins-147 calories burned (PM)

See. Not a ton of physical activity for the week and still some increased results from 4HB. My plan for this week is to continue dieting without the supplements and continue the bike riding to see if I can duplicate the results from last week. Check in on Saturday for the results.

A Simple Request

Now that I’m in better physical shape, I’d like to participate in various events that will benefit organizations and causes that are important to me. It’s a way for me to give back to others and raise some much needed funding for these organizations, plus get some additional exercise in. 🙂

The first event I will be participating in is the Walk 4 Youth which benefits Heartbeats of Licking County. This organization is dedicated to being a life-affirming pregnancy center committed to impacting the lives they serve with the love of Christ. A great group to be a part of. I have a friend who volunteers with this group delivering meals to new mothers. They do great work in our community.

The challenge: I need to raise, at least, $240 over the next 11 days. Would you be willing to help me by supporting me in this endeavor? If so, please click here. If you notice, I’m “easing” my way into the physical activity, fund raising arena slowly. Please don’t ask me to run any marathons any time soon. 🙂 This is a 2 mile walk.

Thanks for your support in advance.

3 Responses to “Orchestrating a 5 lb. week and a simple request”


  1. 1 Ralph
    September 5, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Mark, your “random” and short workouts fit right in with what Tim recommends in 4HB. That’s one of the things that really appealed to me was the very short amount of “workouts” to achieve results.
    Keep up the great work.


Leave a Reply

