01
Dec
11

My Favorite Christmas Songs…The Friends Version Vol. I

It’s December 1st and we’ve only got 24 days until, in my humble opinion, the best holiday of the year-Christmas! Last year, I shared one of my favorite Christmas songs each day from December 1-December 25. I didn’t blog about it, just shared it on Facebook and Twitter.  I wanted to do something similar this year, but with a twist. I thought it would be fun to find out some of my friends’ favorite Christmas songs and the reason why they like the song so much. So, a few days ago, I asked them. The response has been great. Heck, I even had one person submit TWO songs. (Rulebreaker! You know who you are!) I’m not quite sure I have 25 just yet, so if you want to jump in on the fun, you can complete the form below.

To lead us off for the month, Jackie Stewart shared with me that her favorite Christmas song is one of the true classics of the Season. Her favorite song is “White Christmas“, as sung by Bing Crosby. She said that she enjoys hearing this song because it reminds her of her father. He loved this song and would sing it during the Christmas season. Great song and great memories. Thanks for sharing, Jackie!

According to Wikipedia, in 1940, Irving Berlin penned the words to White Christmas. Berlin actually wrote this song poolside, in Phoenix, Arizona, asking his secretary to, “Grab your pen and take down this song. I just wrote the best song I’ve ever written — heck, I just wrote the best song that anybody’s ever written!”

 

Just a few short years later, in 1942, Bing Crosby sang the song in the movie Holiday Inn. Here you can see Mr. Crosby singing the song with co-star, Marjorie Reynolds (in amazing technicolor).

Check back tomorrow for more of my friends’ Christmas Favorites. If you want to jump in on the fun, you’ve still got a chance! Just fill out the form below.

1 Response to “My Favorite Christmas Songs…The Friends Version Vol. I”



Leave a Reply

