05
Dec
11

My Favorite Christmas Songs…The Friends Version Vol. V

Good morning and Happy Monday! One of the best parts about this project, is that I get to listen to some GREAT music! As an FYI, I listen to the song the entire time I write. I think it helps. Maybe not. Either way, it’s fun!

Today’s song is a Christmas classic, and I’ll even share two versions of it with you today-vocal and instrumental. How did the song come into existence? Here’s the back story: In 1965, Lee Mendelson was looking for just the right music to accompany an upcoming television special. While traveling in a taxi cab in SanFrancisco, he heard a song performed by a jazz pianist and his trio mates. One phone call to a local jazz columnist, and Mendelson was connected with pianist Vince Guaraldi. The song, as suggested by Cheri Hottinger (@ChamberCheri), is “Christmastime is Here” by the Vince Guaraldi Trio. Guaraldi and his trio went on to compose and perform the music behind the Charlie Brown specials for years to come. Unfortunately, Guaraldi passed, unexpectedly, at the age of 47 in 1976.

Why did Cheri choose this song as her favorite? She shared with me that, “Charlie Brown and the Peanuts gang always puts me in a good mood.  I love listening to this song.” I couldn’t agree more. Two versions of the classic are posted below-both the instrumental version and as it appears in the Christmas special, A Charlie Brown Christmas.

Thanks, Cheri for sharing this song with us and letting us know why you like it so much.

 

 

 

1 Response to “My Favorite Christmas Songs…The Friends Version Vol. V”


  1. December 5, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Hmm…I wonder which Peanut Cheri would be? 🙂 Why is Woodstock the first character that comes to mind?


Leave a Reply

