06
Dec
11

My Favorite Christmas Songs…The Friends Version Vol. VI

Today’s song was requested by two different friends of mine. Kathy Curtis and Sarah Morrison both said that “Breath of Heaven” by Amy Grant was their favorite Christmas song. 

Both of them gave different accounts as to why this song means something to them. Kathy shared the following:
“It’s so hard to pick one of all the wonderful Christmas songs, but I find THIS one is the one that I turn up and stop to listen to.
I think this stands out because of the seriousness of the tone and lyrics that say so much, even that applies to us all now…


“I am waiting
in a silent prayer
I am frightened
by the load i bear
In a world as cold as stone
Must I walk this path alone
Be with me now”
and
“Do you wonder
As you watch my face
If a wiser one, should of had my place
But I offer-all I am
For the mercy-of your plan
Help me be strong”

God is ALWAYS with us!”

Just a few days ago, Sarah mentioned to me that this was her favorite song as well. Here’s why this is her favorite song:

“The first time I heard this song, I was brought to tears.  I was going through a very difficult time in my life and felt very lost and alone.  The words of this song resonated to my very soul and reminded me that I am never alone.  No matter what is going on in my life, God is there.  Mary gave everything to God and without hesitation accepted His request to bring His only son into the world.  She was afraid and uncertain, but she said yes!

This song serves a reminder to me to say yes to God and accept his love; to love and honor Him in all things; to recognize that the road will not always be easy, but strength can be found in heaven through God.  And even now, when I feel lost and alone, I can listen to this song and be moved to tears – tears of joy that Mary said yes and gave us the most precious gift – Jesus Christ!  I find strength in Mary’s story and her pure love for God.  I find strength in her willingness to give her life to God and to follow Him even when it was difficult.”

This is a great song and I enjoyed the insights of both Kathy and Sarah on this song. Thanks to both of you for sharing your favorite song with us!

So, here it is. Breath of Heaven by Amy Grant.

0 Responses to “My Favorite Christmas Songs…The Friends Version Vol. VI”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

