09
Jan
12

An Experiment in the Kitchen

Today I was home alone so I had sometime to work in the kitchen. I’ve found that I enjoy cooking and baking more than I had realized and has proven to be an outlet for me, as of late. I’ve also found that my family enjoys me cooking and baking as an outlet, as well. No surprises there!

So, while the family was away, I was able to do my thing in the kitchen. The result: First, was a corn cake to go with our chili for dinner. Corn cake is simply a corn muffin mix combined with a yellow cake mix. Not bad eating, but definitely NOT on my diet. 🙂 The rest of the family enjoyed the corn cake, as I enjoyed the chili from the crockpot.

The corn cake was not the experiment. I found a recipe for brownies that I wanted to try. As I posted pictures of the brownies on Facebook, Twitter and Path, I was reminded that it was not my binge day and wouldn’t be for another 5 days. Thanks for the reminder. I’m glad my friends are looking out for my health and keeping me on track. 🙂

The brownies actually have a different base to them. Any guesses? Well, if you followed along on Facebook, you’ll know that these brownies had black beans in them. Yep, black beans were the base for these brownies. The ingredients are below:

1 can of black beans

4 eggs

1/2 teaspoon of baking powder

1/4 cup cocoa powder

2 T of peanut butter

Stevia for sweetening

Assembly: The assembly is quite simple.

1. Wash the black beans well.

2. Combine all the ingredients into a blender or food processor until ingredients are smooth

3. Pour mixture into 8×8 brownie pan

4. Bake at 350 for 20-25 mins.

5. Cut and enjoy

The Finished Product:

Here’s the finished product. What do you think?

I’ll say up front that Little Debbie or Hostess has nothing to worry about. This is merely a healthier alternative to their products. Does it taste like either? No. The brownies have their own taste and you’ll have to try them. Our kids came home and immedately ate 2 each. Yeah, for fiber for the kids. 🙂

Would you be willing to try these brownies? Have you made them before? Did your recipe differ from the one I used?

0 Responses to “An Experiment in the Kitchen”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

