02
Feb
12

A specific request for random information

On Sunday afternoon, one of my blogging buddies and fellow Cool Kid Club member, Ellie, tagged me in a blog post asking for random facts about me. I normally don’t do these, but since she’s a friend AND she mentioned something to me on Twitter about her ninja skills if I didn’t do it, I decided to acquiesce and do the exercise.

The Rules:

  • Post these rules
  • You must post 11 random things about yourself
  • Answer the questions set for you in their post
  • Create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer
  • Go to their blog and tell them you’ve tagged them (I’ll change the rules on this one. I’ll explain below.)
  • No stuff in the tagging section about you are tagged if you are reading this. You legitimately have to tag 11 people!

11 Random Facts about me

1. I was born in Toronto…Ohio. Not Canada. 🙂 Toronto is also the hometown of Robert Urich and Rollie Fingers.

2. I was born with a rare birthing disease and was not supposed to live more than 2-3 days. Almost 35 years later, I’m still going strong.

3. I enjoy helping others reach their potential and become better at what they do.

4. I’m a distant relative to famous college basketball coach, Bobby Knight. If you don’t know who he is, it’s this guy.

5. My favorite ice cream is Moose Tracks.

6. I’m always very comfortable when speaking in public. I also never used notes for a public speech. It’s all in my head and I adjust material on the fly.

7. I had a goatee for part of my freshman year in college. There is photographic evidence of said manscaping, but it hasn’t hit the interwebs yet.

8. Throughout my academic career, I’ve never been able to write a paper more than 2-3 days ahead of the due date. I get complete writer’s block. I need the eustress of the deadline for the creative juices to kick in.

9. I enjoy cooking. It’s not about the food for me. It’s the challenge of getting everything to finish at the same time. It’s a time management exercise for me.

10. On the exterior, I’m a pretty laid back guy. On the inside, I’m way more competitive than you’ll ever know.

11. I’ve taken both piano (7 years) and saxophone (3 years) lessons in my life. I still remember how to play both.

Questions I need to answer from Ellie:

  1. what’s your biggest pet peeve? Negativity.
  2. who’s your favorite author? So many good ones to choose from. I’d say John Maxwell.
  3. where’s the next vacation/trip you’re taking? I have no idea. Hopefully, a beach somewhere.
  4. who will win the super bowl – giants or patriots? Patriots. The G-Men beat my Niners. 😦
  5. what’s your dessert of choice? Anything chocolate
  6. if you could have a superhero power, what would it be? if you could have one: Lightening quick speed
  7. what’s the best thing about blogging: So much great information coming from great people
  8. would you rather drive in rain or snow? rain
  9. what kind of car do you drive? Honda Civic. Jealous, aren’t you?
  10. how do you spend your free time? Playing with kids, reading, or Facebook/Twitter
  11. if you could meet a celebrity, who & why? Joe Montana. My favorite football player of all time.

Now, I have to post 11 questions for you to answer. Most of the bloggers I know were already tagged by someone else, so I’m opening up this questions to anyone who reads the post. If you find this on Facebook or Twitter, please answer the questions below in the comments section.

Here we go:

1. If you could be anywhere, right now, where would it be?

2. Who’s influenced you the most in your life?

3. iPhone or Droid?

4. What is your proudest moment to date?

5. If you could spend your days doing anything, what would it be?

6. Which do you like more, Facebook or Twitter?

7. Which college/university did you attend and why?

8. What is your favorite meal?

9. Are you an early riser or night owl?

10. If you could have lunch with anyone, past or present, who would it be and why?

11. Who is your favorite athlete (college or pro)?

There’s the questions! You can either copy and paste the answers in the comment section OR just number 1-11. Either will work. Have fun with this!

Enjoy your Thursday! It’s almost the weekend.

3 Responses to “A specific request for random information”


  1. 1 Kurt Harden
    February 2, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    1. If you could be anywhere, right now, where would it be? Right here.

    2. Who’s influenced you the most in your life? My father.

    3. iPhone or Droid? Blackberry.

    4. What is your proudest moment to date? Seeing children succeed.

    5. If you could spend your days doing anything, what would it be? Reading, walking, being with my family.

    6. Which do you like more, Facebook or Twitter? Twitter

    7. Which college/university did you attend and why? Bowling Green State University. Father told me car was heading that way (older brother attended).

    8. What is your favorite meal? Fried chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy. Has been all my life.

    9. Are you an early riser or night owl? Both.

    10. If you could have lunch with anyone, past or present, who would it be and why? My father. Lots to tell him.

    11. Who is your favorite athlete (college or pro)? Bob Griese.

  2. 2 marklabutis
    February 2, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    Thanks for sharing, Kurt! Great answers.

  3. February 3, 2012 at 11:50 pm

    Here we go:

    1. If you could be anywhere, right now, where would it be? with my kiddies and husband

    2. Who’s influenced you the most in your life? my mom

    3. iPhone or Droid? both (i have -iphone for personal; droid for work)

    4. What is your proudest moment to date? birth of my kids

    5. If you could spend your days doing anything, what would it be? hanging with my family. (see a theme here)

    6. Which do you like more, Facebook or Twitter? fb

    7. Which college/university did you attend and why? georgetown university, good foreign relations program

    8. What is your favorite meal? cupcakes and chocolate (not really a meal)

    9. Are you an early riser or night owl? early riser

    10. If you could have lunch with anyone, past or present, who would it be and why? my mom who passed away a few years ago

    11. Who is your favorite athlete (college or pro)? Kurt Warner- I know he’s not playing anymore

    There’s the questions! You can either copy and paste the answers in the comment section OR just number 1-11. Either will work. Have fun with this!

    Thanks – this was fun!


Leave a Reply

