19
Feb
12

Proud Parent Moment: Kids vs. Asparagus

I think I may have mentioned my affinity for the show Man v. Food previously on this blog. The show is about Adam Richman, a man who travels the country in search of the world’s greatest food challenges. We’ve watched Adam devour humongous burgers, eat amazingly hot food (the kind that brings tears to your eyes BEFORE you eat it), and take on some other serious food challenges. I’m impressed with his skills.

So, you’re probably wondering, “how is this going to turn out as a good parenting moment”. Oh, how you doubt my skills. 🙂

As part of our dinner this evening, my wife made asparagus. By a show of hands, how many of you LIKE asparagus (sans tons of ooey gooey cheese sauce). Ah, I see that hand in the back corner! Good for you. 🙂

My wife and I began to eat and the kids weren’t really buying the asparagus. Our son started to eat his stalk and wasn’t thrilled. Same with our daughter. I knew we had to do something. My wife had worked hard to saute the asparagus just right. The mixture of garlic, Parmesan cheese and olive oil was perfect. What to do???

If I know one thing about our kids, they’re always motivated by a challenge, especially our oldest. So, I grabbed the bowl of asparagus, grabbed a stalk and challenged our son. The first one to eat the entire stalk would win the challenge. Ironically, the asparagus that wasn’t so good a few minutes ago, was magically gone in a flash. Round one: Grant!

His younger sister, not to be outdone, had to challenge daddy next! Round two: Reagan!

Next up, Mommy! Round three goes to Mommy!

Grant wanted a second shot at dad (and he won): Round four: Grant

I even did a few of the rounds “double barrel” eating two stalks at a time.

Now, did the taste of the asparagus change? Nope. But, the fact that we made it into a game and it was A) competitive and B) they were winning, made all the difference.

After a few challenges, the entire pound of asparagus my wife cooked was gone. Honestly, if I was a 7 or 5 year old and my parents told me I had to eat asparagus, I’d have gone to bed hungry. The kids had fun eating their veggies for the night. They won the challenges, but we all won because of the healthy benefits of the asparagus.

What are some tricks or challenges that you’ve issued your kids? What were some games or challenges that you’re parents did with you that made something seem like fun. Leave a comment below.

1 Response to “Proud Parent Moment: Kids vs. Asparagus”


  1. 1 Rebecca Hampto
    February 20, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    We have the “hot sauce” club when we go to a Mexican restaurant. We make the kids try some on a chip so they can enter “the club” No nutritional value, but fun none the less. (we always make sure to have some chocolate milk on hand first to put out the flames. )


Leave a Reply

